Today in History: Yugoslavia

Former Yugoslavia 1996 CIA map

Today in History–October 3–the Library of Congress features Yugoslavia, or the “Land of the South Slavs”, formed on this date in 1929. The kingdom included the regions of Serbia, Montenegro, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Macedonia. In the early 1990s, most of the countries had declared their independence; the last to become independent nations were Montenegro and Serbia in 2006. Learn more by visiting the Today in History section, then click the links below to access more information and resources about Yugoslavia.

Yugoslavia and former Yugoslavia maps

Yugoslavia images

Yugoslavia-related music & oral history recordings

Flory Jagoda and Friends traditional Sephardic music from the former Yugoslavia (streaming webcast)

Yugoslav Socialism in Latin America: The Left-Wing Origins of Neoliberalism (streaming webcast)

Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection interviews mentioning Yugoslavia

U.S. legislation related to Yugoslavia

International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia Global Legal Monitor

Yugoslavia country study

Timeline: Break-up of Yugoslavia BBC

War in the Balkans, 1991-2002 Strategic Studies Institute, U.S. Army War College, 2003

The successor states to pre-1991 Yugoslavia : progress and challenges hearing before the Subcommittee on European Affairs of the Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate, One Hundred Eighth Congress, first session, June 25, 2003

Bosnia Herzegovina resource set

Croatia resource set

Macedonia resource set

Montenegro resource set

Serbia resource set

Slovenia resource set